The administration of the NSERC CANRIMT2 is located in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of British Columbia, the host institution for the Network.

Management Structure

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is responsible for the overall management, scientific direction and financial accountability of the Network, and approves the release of Network funds and the membership. The Board also provides accountability to NSERC, the contributing partners and Strategic Network Members. In addition, the Board monitors and evaluates Network objectives to ensure they are met.

  • Ralph Resnick, Chair, President & Executive Director, National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining (NCDMM), USA
  • Yusuf Altintas, Professor & PI, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Tim Shinbara, VP, Technology at AMT, The Association For Manufacturing Technology, USA
  • Liangji Xu, Boeing Manufacturing Research and Development, Auburn, USA
  • Toshimichi Moriwaki, Emeritus Professor, Precision Manufacturing, Kobe University, Japan
  • Michael Kilfoil, Program Leader, National Research Council’s (NRC), Factory of the Future Program, Canada
  • Don McIntosh, Senior Fellow & Manager, Manufacturing Technology, Pratt & Whitney Canada
  • Dale Quinn, Senior Technical Lead, Machining Department, Honda Canada
  • Stewart Cramer, Consultant, Aerospace Manufacturing, Canada
  • Michael Zaeh, Professor, Technische Univerität München
  • Mikael Lundblad, Director of Business Innovation, Sandvik Coromant, Sweden

Scientific Committee

  • Responsible for assessment of research and provide recommendations to Board regarding research priorities and budget allocation.
  • Committee to meet every year and have bi-monthly web-based conference meetings.Academic Members– Y. Altintas, Scientific Director, Theme V
    – K. Erkorkmaz, Theme I
    – R. Mayer, Theme II
    – S. Park, Theme III
    – S. Veldhuis, Theme IVMembers from Industrial and Institutional partners
    – D. McIntosh, Pratt & Whitney Canada
    – D. Quinn, Honda Canada
    – B. Reiter, ODG
    – M. Lundblad, Sandvik
    – Dr. L. Xu, Boeing
    – Dr. D. Liang Lo, ITRI, Taiwan

Technology Transfer Committee

The Technology Transfer Committee was formed in January 2011 and is responsible for developing industrial contacts and facilitating the commercialization of the CANRIMT technology.

  • Dr. Stephen Veldhuis, McMaster University (Co-Chair)
  • Mr. Don McIntosh, P&WC (Co-Chair)
  • Mr. Dale Quinn, Honda Canada

Graduate Student Council

The Graduate Student Council will advise the Scientific Committee on the following topics:

  • Collect recommendations from fellow students about the research projects, courses, communication, accessibility to knowledge hubs and experimental facilities, employment opportunities
  • Strategies in designing internship structure and mentoring of students

One graduate student elected from each university node. The chair will be elected by the members of the council.

Current Graduate Student Advisory Council Members:

Network Coordinator Lu Pan is the NSERC CANRIMT2 Network Coordinator and is responsible for the overall administration of Network, including the budget, the web site, the organization of meetings and events, Network communications and the completion and submission of progress, budget and other reports.